A Snowy Day for Birds

I awoke at dawn to a soft white snowfall covering everything, grabbed my backpack, and started to drive to the airport to visit my mother in California. Within a mile I realized my car was out of control on the icy road, so I turned around for home, and found myself with a day to enjoy the first real snowfall since we moved here. When the snowflakes stopped falling, we walked out to find our Anna’s Hummingbird (above) perched close by its feeder. The Black-capped Chickadees, Song Sparrows, and Dark-eyed Juncos seemed grateful for their suet and black oil sunflower seeds. As we walked, it was fun to find bird tracks in the snow, the usual ducks, coots, cormorants, gulls, and Great Blue Herons looking for a meal, and one lone Common Goldeneye at the marina. It looked surprised by all the snow as it displayed its gorgeous black and white feathers and shining golden eyes in the afternoon sun.

Write a comment

Comments: 0